Taking My Art to the Next Level. Magnum.

Posted on October 17, 2009

7


Sharpie Magnum Cartridge

Magnum – [mag-nuh m]

– A trademark for cartridges that have a larger charge and casing than other gun cartridges of the same caliber, or firearms capable of shooting these.

That cartridge you see pictured above, is a Sharpie Permanent Marker Magnum. This evening I loaded it into my artistic rifle, and fired away. It’s a solid weapon of artistic creation as long as you can handle it. I’ll let you be the judge of how well I was able to handle it. Take a look at a couple of my target sheets and let me know what you think.

As Light Penetrates Darkness, So Does Darkness

Mask of Truths

Seattle Snow Globe

They’re in chronological order; so the first one was the first one I did, the second one is my second creation, and the third, the third one. These are the only three pieces I have ever done with just a Magnum marker by the way. The third one, ‘Seattle Snow Globe’, is probably my favorite. Not because it has a Seattle landmark in it, but I realized something way cool about the Magnum Marker. I am able to use both sides of my paper, because it bleeds through so beautifully. Using different layers of paper also adds another aspect to it, by allowing more control over the richness of the bleed. There is so much more you could do with this marker I’m sure. Artists, go get one, and explore. Try to use just the Magnum Marker and paper to see what all you can do with it. Be sure to come back here and post up your works! Oh, and you can click on the image to get to the full-size version.

Materials Used:

11 x 8 1/2  – Acid-free/Lignin-free – Heavyweight Paper (Your basic sketching paper.)

Sharpie Magnum Permanent Marker (The main weapon used in these works.)

Pilot G-2 07 Pen (Used in the ‘Seattle Snow Globe’ for the city skyline.)

Posted in: Art