Personal Constitution

Posted on November 10, 2009

0


A couple of weeks ago in my English and Literature class, I had to create a personal constitution for my writing portfolio. This project was kind of unique in that I wasn’t asked to write a response to some poem, story, book, etc. I had to write my fair share of those, but this was a break from the endless response papers; a much appreciated break mind you.

I want to share my personal constitution with you. I wasn’t going to at first, but already in the past two weeks it has helped me out in making better decisions daily. The objective of this blog is to help others lead happier, simpler, and more fulfilling lives; so I thought about it some more and I realized this would make a perfect post.

So, take a gander at my constitution below, and then create one yourself. Don’t create it on a whim though; take your time and think about the things that are most important to you. I’ll make you a quick step-by-step list.

  1. Put aside all distractions. This step is most crucial of them all.
  2. Grab a notebook, and write down the things/values that are most important to you.
  3. Rank these items in order of importance to you.
  4. Write out a couple reminders/laws/statements to go with each value.
  5. Make sure that these are the things you really want in life.

The reason you rank your most important items is because this is how they will appear on your constitution. That way if a problem presents itself that conflicts with two separate laws in your constitution, then you can easily see what will bring you more happiness. It will bring you more happiness, simply because it is more important to you. You can read mine first to use it as an example if you like, but remember, my priorities aren’t yours.

Personal Constitution of Joseph S.

I, Joseph, in order to develop and discipline my life to be of the highest value to myself and others, in Spirit, Mind, Body, and Nature, do establish this constitution for me.

Family

I let go of things that are not critical to the happiness of me, my children, and my wife. I make time for my family, always.

I regularly arrange to have times of undivided attention for my wife. I listen to her frustrations, thoughts, feelings, and pay attention to her needs. I enjoy her company.

I put myself in my children’s shoes before I discipline them. I believe I can discipline them without physical punishment. I make sure they know I love them, even though I may not approve of some of their actions.

Religion

I make time daily to read God’s word, pray, and meditate.

I talk to my family and friends about our Heavenly Father’s love. I take my family to church so they can constantly see his goodness.

I show in my own life that actions are more important than words, by doing whatever the Lord asks of me.

Inner Harmony

I make sure there is enough time when I get to work to relax and plan my day, before it starts. I reduce my stress.

I believe in mental power; I believe in positivity. I concentrate on the positives and minimize the little faults that bug me.

I minimize and simplify all distractions in my life. I keep things simple, and not complex.

Integrity

I live with integrity and a life of moral goodness.

I guard my thought from impurity and monitor the materials that I read, watch, and in the activities which I become involved.

I promptly deal with any personal issues and private failings that have the potential to become time bombs in my life.

Love for Others

I love people regardless of their differences and actively seek to share my resources and myself with them. I genuinely care about other people.

I help people out whenever I see a need. I genuinely care about other people.

I listen with an open-mind to what people have to say. I genuinely care about other people.

Personal Health

I regularly exercise and keep myself physically fit.

I watch what I eat and keep my diet healthy.

I do these things to prolong my health, and my life with my family.

Accomplishment

People can trust me. I am on time. I am honest. I do my best in everything.

I realistically plan my day every morning; concentrating on things that need to be done as much as I do on the things that I want to do.

I keep good records. I think about situations. I do things right the first time.

Friendship

I guard myself from appearing arrogant, over confident, or narcissist, as well as shy or afraid, among other people.

  • From section on ‘Integrity’: I promptly deal with any personal issues and private failings that have the potential to become time bombs in my life.

I make time for my friends as often as possible, but remember my family is the most important.

Quality of Life

I understand that it isn’t the amount of money I have, but how I direct the flow of what funds I do have, that will bring me financial security.

I educate myself in good financial management; learning how to save money and discipline myself in using it.

I watch what I spend. I make sure I spend less than I earn. I make sure I save a little for a ‘rainy day’.

Creativity

I look for new ways to do things. I listen to new ideas, and I learn new ideas.

I challenge and increase my mind’s capacity to think and be creative, by informing myself of new things.

I put to practice the new things I learn, and see what new things I can create myself to share with the world as others have done before me.

Occupational Satisfaction

I understand the importance of a good work ethic and am responsible to work to support my personal needs and those of my family.

I will make sure that the tasks involved, the interest and the challenge my occupation generates, are in-line with what I wish to accomplish with my life.

Understanding

I read things related to all aspects of my life and internalize the worthwhile things.

I look at as many perspectives as possible when it comes to learning any new concepts.

I look for new perspectives on things of which I already have knowledge.

Equality

I respond to unnerving situations with calm emotions, a bridled tongue, and an objective attitude.

I deal with conflict proactively to insure its resolution. I do not avoid the situation.

I live my life by good morals, and expect others to lead their lives in this fashion as well.

That’s it. Now obviously there are a few things that I can’t do yet; for example I’m not yet married and I don’t have children, but I’m planning for it. Also, this constitution may be updated as I continue to grow, but only if I am unhappy and I’m not living by it to the best of my ability. If I’m not living by it to the best of my ability, then that’s obviously why I’m not happy. All the best in creating your own personal constitutions and finding happiness.

Posted in: Zen