Music Monday – 11.16.2009

Posted on November 16, 2009

0


1. – Kooza Dance by Cirque du Soleil – I never wrote anything about it, but back in February of this year I had the opportunity to see a Cirque du Soleil performance. There are many different shows and performances put on by the company; the one I got to attend was the Kooza show. It was absolutely awe-inspiring to see. If you ever get the chance to see a Cirque du Soleil performance, take it. You won’t regret it, I promise. This is the theme song for Kooza by the way. It’s dope.

2. – Sink Hole by Drive-by Truckers – I discovered today, the awesomeness that radiates from the Drive-by Truckers. I honestly have no clue how they have evaded my watchful eye, ahem, ear for good music, but somehow they have. This makes them that much cooler in my book, so definitely go give them a listen. This song is my current favorite by them, go listen, now.

3. – The Soapmakers by Clutch – I’ve been a long time fan of Clutch. A pretty astonishing group from the ’90s. They recently put out an album a few months ago that I had no clue about, but I have to say, they haven’t lost their talent from what I’ve heard of it. This song isn’t from that album, because I have yet to give it a real good listen. This song is the song that got me curious about the band and pointed me towards their collection, which I found to be spectacular. Hopefully it will do the same for you.

4. – Jap Dad by UUVVWWZ – If you know how to pronounce that, lemme’ know, because I have absolutely no idea. As you know, I’m a fan of stuff that doesn’t have too much rhythm, and this definitely falls under that category.  Unlike, Cougar, from last week though, this group has lyrics. Haven’t figured them all out yet, but the music is way good. What are they trying to say?!

5. – Bury Me by Smashing Pumpkins – I’m tellin’ ya’ again, every week, I will have a Pumpkins song on the list; They’re simply amazing. This one comes from their debut album, Gish. My favorite album to listen to while traveling probably; it’s just one of those good road trip albums. Lots of great guitar action in this album too.

6. – Priority by Mos Def – I figured since I posted up a wallpaper last week centering around the man, I should put some of his music up on the playlist this week. From the album, The Ecstatic, which was heavily advertised alongside the ZuneHD. I would have probably never found him if it wasn’t for that and I’m so glad I did. This song is one of my favorites; good song and great message, go get it.

7. – I Can’t Dance by Genesis – This past week @SeattleWeekly on Twitter mentioned something about being in the mood for Phil Collins. It kinda’ put me in the mood for him, just hearing his name, but not quite. I did however settle for some, Genesis, and what some would call my theme song. Personally, I feel that I can totally sing, and dance.

Zune Playlist file for everyone in ZuneNation!

Posted in: Music, Playlists