Music Monday – 11/30/09

Posted on December 1, 2009

0


Yes, I know it’s a day late. Notified that I failed a Physics exam yesterday, so I took the rest of the day off and did nothing.

1. – My Foggy Notion by Melissa Auf der Maur – Melissa took over as the bassist for the Smashing Pumpkins after Wretzky was finally dismissed. It wasn’t long afterwards though, that the band broke apart anyways. It would have been cool to see her come back to the band, but Ginger works. Oh, and this is going to be the Smashing Pumpkins song of the week, in the fact that it is a former member’s solo work.

2. – Green Grass (Edinburgh – 07/27/08) – Go buy this entire album and all of your wildest dreams will come true. Tom Waits, you should know that I love him by now. This is his most recent release which is a compilation of songs from his recent tour throughout the Southeastern states and large cities in Europe. They’re all amazing, and if you get the deluxe edition, Tom Tales is worth listening to multiple times.

3. – The Yeti by Clutch – “Himalaya is my all time stomping ground.” That lyric alone makes this song awesome. Clutch is another favorite band of mine. I’m not sure if I’ve put anything up by them before, but I have now. This whole album is great, so definitely check it out, along with their entire discography.

4. – Triumph by Wale – This guy makes more references to pop-culture and sports in his music than anyone I know. I’m still trying to decide if it’s cool and creative, or just ridiculous. Seriously, listen to the song and you’ll understand. Right now, I’m leaning towards, kinda’ cool, but if he doesn’t mix it up a bit in his next album, then blah’.

5. – The Man I Keep Hid by Joe Henry – Nobody knows that man I keep hid, nobody knows, nobody but me. Not the actual lyrics there, but my personal interpretation of them. I really like they lyrics/my personal interpretation of the lyrics, and the musical score is pretty sweet as well with the Jazz flair going on. Also, this song is completely free.

6. – Get Back by Ludacris – My cousin and I went on a road trip this past weekend to visit with family at Stone Mountain in Georgia. This song, along with a few other Ludacris songs, make a road trip almost perfect. Move B***h is another great road trip song, especially when traveling in Atlanta traffic, or anywhere in Alabama for that matter. Gas pedal is on the right, as well as the slow lane. Clean version linked to by the way.

7. – Eye of the Beholder by Metallica – Another artist we listened to entirely too much on this trip was Metallica. …And Justice for All along with St. Anger held reign for nearly half of all our time spent on the road. Needless to say, I’m actually kinda’ tired of Metallica, but at the same time I’m not. I guess it’s similar to an alcoholic in that, he knows he has had too much, but he just can’t stop, it’s so damn good.

For the Zune Nation, your playlist file.

Posted in: Music