Music Monday – 12.22.2009

Posted on December 22, 2009

0


Christmastime by The Smashing Pumpkins

Its that time of the year again. The time of the year when the Christian world celebrates the birth of Jesus Christ. The time of the year when the rest of the world joins in on the festivities for whatever reason. This is also the time of the year, when I have this song thrown into every playlist I’m listening to. It is quite easily the best Christmas song ever written.

Zambony by K-OS

“Do you have any idea of the chaos you have caused around here? Nobody knows what you’re doing!” – “That’s exactly the way I like it!” An argument could be raised about the genre to which K-OS in fact belongs, and that’s just the way he likes it. Not only does he sing as much as he raps, there is also lush, instrument-driven arrangements to go with the traditional hip-hop elements of drum programming, samples, and the like.

Low Rising by The Swell Season

Marketa Irglova is another one of my musician crushes. Lovely voice and cuter than ducks butt. Glen Hansard has a voice that I’ve always kind of envied, so needless to say Glen Hansard is a lucky guy in my books. Nothing really spectacular about the music, just more of their soothing acoustic sounds. More greatness from the wonderful duet their voices create together though. Well, my kind of wonderful duet.

Jump by Kris Kross

I went to a dance a little over two weeks ago. The theme was ‘Dance of the Decades’. You were supposed to dress up in the formal style of your favorite decade. There was one guy there from the 90s. Bright denim jeans, black skateboard shoes, band t-shirt, full-zip hoodie, and cleanly shaven with the same haircut that every hero in a Disney movie, from the 90s had. Here’s the kicker, he hates MP3’s and doesn’t care about vinyl, but absolutely loves CDs. I don’t  know if he was just playing the part, but I think this guy seriously just woke up from a coma. Way cool guy though. My point of telling you this, is that the only song from the 90s they played was Jump by Kris Kross. He couldn’t believe it, but he also knew every word. That’s wiggidy-wiggidy-whack.

Sundial by Wolfmother

I love pretty much everything about this song. I don’t really have much more to say other than that. It finds itself on the list this week, thanks to showing up while shuffling through stuff last night while writing in my journal.

Mind Eraser, No Chaser by Them Crooked Vultures

First off, you got to love the title of this song. Second of, is the perfect definition for this song. It is enlightening and thrilling. You can listen to it over and over again. And when all is said and done, you’ll want to keep going with it, but you can’t and your mind is going numb. Then you inevitably crash, and do it all over again.

Take On Me by A-Ha

Another song that has reappeared to me thanks to the ‘Dance of the Decades’ thing I went to. Absolutely love the clean beats of the 80s and the simpleness of it all. I think I’m going to resurrect my 80s collection throughout the rest of this delightful December.

Zune Playlist for the Zune Nation!

Posted in: Music