Music Monday – 1.4.2010

Posted on January 4, 2010

1


Sleepyhead by Passion Pit

Something about this song is rather addicting. Something about Passion Pit is rather addicting. I’m not the biggest fan, but when one of their songs comes up on my shuffle I don’t skip it.

Say Please by Monsters of Folk

I really don’t care for this band at all, but this song has a pretty monstrous guitar solo which I like to listen to every now and again.

Shake It Out by Manchester Orchestra

Never hopped on the Manchester Orchestra bandwagon, but when this song came on Sirius XM-U, I immediately went and downloaded the entire album, ‘Mean Everything to Nothing’. Solid album.

London is the Reason by Gallows

In your face, loud, terrible, and wonderful. This is the only song I’ve listened to from them so far and I love it. There is a ‘Parental Advisory’ sticker slapped on the cover though, so beware if you wish to keep things decent. I have a feeling the rest of this album is nearly as clean, and they really get into how much they really hate.

Love Is Real by Jimmy Chamberlain

Easily the greatest drummer of all time, and the most recent member to leave the Smashing Pumpkins. As much as I wish to defend Billy Corgan, I can’t blame Jimmy for leaving at this time. Corgan, quit being dumb, please. The world could use some more of your real self, and not the self you’re trying to find/invent. Anyways, Pumpkins song of the week since it is from a former Pumpkin. Enjoy.

The Steward of Gondor by Howard Shore; Billy Boyd

I know I’ve got a couple of soundtrack fanatics here, so enjoy. I know you probably already have this song, but maybe this shall reawaken you to its awesomeness, and the awesomeness of this entire soundtrack.

Sink Hole by Drive-by Truckers

Easily becoming one of my favorite bands of all time. Brilliant lyrics, absolutely love the resonance, and it’s completely southern. The album this song is from is easily one of the best albums from the 00s as well. Pick up Decoration Day next time you’re shopping for some tunes.

Zune Playlist file for the ZuneNation!

Posted in: Music