Music Monday – 1.11.2010

Posted on January 11, 2010

1


Irna by Cirque du Soleil

Starting out with an instrumental masterpiece from the spectacular masterminds at Cirque du Soleil. This piece is from the Alegria show, which I’m desperately trying to see, when it stops in Indianapolis, IN, the weekend of my birthday. If you care to make any donations, it would be the greatest birthday present ever. Just sayin’.

Immortality by Pearl Jam

I haven’t listened to a whole lot of Pearl Jam lately. Heard this on the radio, got home, listened to the entire album. Good stuff. Oh, and they hail from the Emerald City.

Carl Perkins’ Cadillac by Drive-by Truckers

Yes, another Drive-by Truckers song this week as well. I’m falling more and more in love with them everyday. Uncut puts it best, “Lyrically, it’s riveting, tapping into a unique Southern storytelling tradition.” As much as I wish to move out to Seattle, I’m still proud to be from the South.

Lord, I’m Discouraged by The Hold Steady

This whole album is a sing-along album; an ‘everyman aesthetic’ if you would, and I love it. I love this song in particularly because of the formulaic, fun, and fantastic guitar solo in the middle.

Damn, Sam (I Love A Woman That Rains) by Ryan Adams

A simple romance.

To Forgive by Smashing Pumpkins

And right as rain, I’m not the same but
I feel the same, I feel nothing.
Holding back the fool again
Holding back the fool pretends.
I forget to forget nothing is important.
Holding back the fool again.

‘Nuff said.

All Apologies by Nirvana

Ever since the official release of Nirvana’s headlining performance at the 1992 Reading Festival, my love for Nirvana has been reawakened. I remember when my brother first gave me a Mix-CD of his favorite tracks from the group, and listening to this one track over and over. Can’t thank him enough for that CD.

Zune Playlist File for the ZuneNation! (For some reason I can’t upload .ZPL’s to Google Pages, so if you would like the playlist, just contact me with your ZuneTag and I’ll send it to ya’. My ZuneTag is ‘TheMooKooJoe’.)

Posted in: Music