Music Monday – 1.18.2010

Posted on January 18, 2010

0


Window Paine by The Smashing Pumpkins

Starting out this week’s list right away with a Pumpkins song. As many times as I’ve listened to this song, you think that I would have noticed how beautifully the ‘Jackboot’ riff could come in at the end of it before now. What I would give to see that live.

Crown of Thorns by Mother Love Bone

I watched ‘Say Anything’ this past Friday night. First, I would like to say that this is a romance film, which is unparalleled, a classic. A classic which takes place in Seattle mind you…

In Your Eyes by Peter Gabriel

…Lloyd, arms aloft, ghetto-blasting Peter Gabriel’s “In Your Eyes” outside of Diane’s window. You can’t beat that. If you have never seen ‘Say Anything’, then go out and find a copy this week, sit down, and watch it.

25 or 6 to 4 by Chicago

Last night, or technically this morning, I was watching ‘King of the Hill’. Every time I watch an episode I’m saddened that it has been cancelled, but thankful that every night I can still get a fix off the re-runs. Last night the episode ‘Luanne Gets Lucky’ came on. Luanne dressed to match Cinderella and Lucky requesting the last song to be ’25 or 6 to 4’ is simply enchanting.

Covenant Dance by Martin O’ Donnell

During my Friday night of nostalgic numbness, I played through the original Halo. The whole soundtrack for this game retains a dynamic and fluid feel. This one I like in particularly because it covers all the different styles within the soundtrack in two minutes.

Hurt by Johnny Cash

Nine Inch Nails did it first, Johnny Cash did it right, as always with anything Johnny Cash touches. I think more than anything it is Cash’s voice that gives this song more feeling and emotion than Trent could ever dream of. At least, not until he’s aged a bit.

Crank That by I Set My Friends On Fire

Stupid, but oh so fun.

Posted in: Music, Playlists