Music Monday – 1.25.2010

Posted on January 25, 2010

0


The Union Forever by The White Stripes

@NickLathan recommended this song. It’s by The White Stripes, so of course it made it onto the list. Enjoy, and go get this entire album as soon as you can.

I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow by The Soggy Bottom Boys

O Brother, Where Art Thou is one of my favorite films of all time.
“Woo! Hot Damn, son I believe you did sell your soul to the devil.”
“Woooooooo-wee. Boy, that was a miiiighty fine a-pickin’ and a-singin’. I’ll tell you what, you come on in here and sign these papers here and I’m a gonna you ten dollars a piece.”
“Uh, okay sir. But Murt and Aloysius will have to sign Xs as only four of us can write.”
For those that haven’t seen the film, there are four Soggy Bottom Boys.

About Face by Grizzly Bear

I keep hearing about this album from all the different music news and reviews sites, so I figured it must be decent if they all think it’s great. It’s decent, but way too much hoopla around this album. That’s the way it is with any group that gets discovered anymore though.

Soma by The Smashing Pumpkins

Soma is the name of a drug in the 1932 Aldous Huxley novel Brave New World that dulls your senses; kinda’ like the coma that a relationship puts you in. Then there is the shock as you find you have nothing left, or when you’re awakened when it all falls apart.

Real Life by Tan Lines

I have yet to look up lyrics or discern them for myself, but I love the music in this song. Just a plethora of sound.

Coastal Brake by Tycho

Sometimes an album’s artwork is enough to sell it to me. Then you get songs on those albums, that are just easy to listen to. Love the artwork of this album, and this is that one song that is just easy to listen to and enjoy.

I’m Goin’ In by Drake

Lil Wayne drops the first verse on this song, and it is nasty. Drake is a newcomer and he definitely has potential. When your lines are at the level of Lil Wayne’s, on your first album and in the same song as him, it is pretty much a given that you have a future in the hip hop world.
Posted in: Music