What Kate Does

Posted on February 10, 2010

0


The second episode of LOST‘s final season opens with a very confused Sayid waking up, after being dead for a few minutes. Wondering where he and his friends are, how they got there and who all these barefoot temple-dwellers are. Remember, he was unconscious when he was brought into the temple, then dead, so this is the first time he’s seen any of this place. Unless you include the fountain of water in which he was drowned, but he doesn’t even remember that apparently because he says the last thing he remembered was getting shot. Hurley sums it up for him quickly though, “It’s the Others, dude. They caught us. Again.”

Sayid’s entry back into the world of the living gets the Temple Others all in a tizzy. Immediately, Dogan, they’re leader, wants to speak with Sayid in private. He ends up torturing Sayid, claiming to be testing him, and then later telling Jack that he was diagnosing Sayid. I thought that was quite obvious when he blew the ash across his abdomen. I don’t understand what the electricity and the burning was for though; other than maybe these extreme temperatures do something to the infection/darkness to make it reveal itself. The only thing I saw was pain. I’m not completely convinced Sayid has been ‘claimed’ by Smokey just yet. Or I should say, I don’t want to believe he has been claimed; Sayid is one of my favorite characters, and at the moment I’m rooting against Smokey.

Dogan also tells Jack that the same thing happened to his sister, which we know to be Claire. After seeing her mow down two of the Temple Others, I believe it. I don’t think Claire ever could have done such a thing if she wasn’t possessed or claimed in some way. Then again, she reminds me a lot of Rousseau, the French women who lost her child on the island like Claire. The only difference between the two is that Rousseau was never infected, but actually killed off her entire team that came with her to the island because they became infected at the temple. In her words, “I had no choice. They were already lost. What would have happened if we were rescued? I couldn’t let that happen. I won’t.” Another interesting note about Claire is that Ethan is her pregnancy doctor in the new reality.

Sawyer’s tearful admission to Kate that he was going to propose to Juliet, was awesome. I was sick and tired of this love triangle between Jack, Kate, and Sawyer. I’m not a Kate fan, at all. She is practically a whore in my opinion, switching back and forth between the two men practically every episode. So to see her hopes and dreams of being with Sawyer smashed to bits and pieces was just awesome. Jack obviously still has feelings for Kate judging by the scene where Kate leaves the Temple.

Conclusion of this episode is that there are two sides being formed up for an epic game of dodgeball. Team Captains are Smokey and Jacob, and they’re picking their teams out of the survivors of Oceanic Flight 815. Jacob has a little bit of an advantage though, if the Temple dwellers are who they say they are. Oh, and the previews for next week give us the idea that Sawyer will be joining up with Smokey. I hope not, because he’s another one of my favorite characters, and I’m rooting for Jacob’s side.

I know I’ve missed a lot of stuff in this summation, I’m writing about LOST after all, so feel free to share your ideas in the comments.

Tagged:
Posted in: Television