Music Monday – 2.15.2010

Posted on February 15, 2010

0


No One’s Gonna’ Love You by Band of Horses

This is my favorite love song of the last few years. Don’t let the title fool you, the complete lyrics go: No one’s gonna love you…more than I do.

You Must Be Out of Your Mind by The Magnetic Fields

For those who celebrated Singles Awareness Day yesterday, instead of the traditional Valentine’s Day, here is a song for you.

Heaven by Bryan Adams

For those who celebrated the traditional Valentine’s Day with a significant other, a song for you. And no more love songs for this playlist.

Me and Jane Doe by Charlotte Gainsbourg

At first I thought this song was about her meditating in the desert. A place you could picture as the wild west of the afterlife. turns out, she wrote a song about her and her neighbor’s dog, Jane Doe.

Set the Ray to Jerry by The Smashing Pumpkins

The song centers on the simple sentiment of “I want you/I need you.” That and the minimally featured guitar and rumbling bass, which carries the entire song into your heart.

Ballad of John by We Are Country Mice

These guys are on their way up to the top. Definitely worth a listen.

Ain’t No Sunshine by Bill Withers

Okay, one more love song. I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I said no more after “Heaven”, but I lied.

Posted in: Playlists