Mixtape Monday – 3.8.2010

Posted on March 8, 2010

0


Permalight by Rogue Wave

Overproduction ultimately damns this entire record. That said, I like this song.

Tootie Ma Is A Big Fine Thing by Preservation Hall Jazz Band & Tom Waits

Tom Waits doing “Tootie Ma Was a Big Fine Thing” is so wonderful, that it may just be the coolest thing you hear all year.

Leaving England by Overmountain Men

“Can you capture another world, but not make it a novelty? The point for me, ultimately, is to take some of these characters I meet and fall in love with when I read about them, and tell their tale in a way that’s not like ‘Yankee Doodle Dandy’ or some novelty song like ‘Davy Crockett.’” – Bob Crawford

Success!

Weird Science by Does It Offend You, Yeah?

– With its haunting, intense keyboards, you’ll want to pogo in place as the beat gets any mobile part of your body tapping along.

I’m Goin’ In by Drake

The hook is like nails-on-a-chalkboard times infinity. The lines however, I could spit over and over.

Superchrist by The Smashing Pumpkins

The guitars are rampaging and the drums are tight and explosive.

Civil War by Guns N’ Roses

Taking my first actual guitar lesson tomorrow night, and I’ve been listening to quite a bit of the greatness of Slash. One of my favorite Guns N’ Roses songs.

Posted in: Playlists