Dr. Linus

Posted on March 14, 2010

0


First of, I have always had a problem with the ‘Dig Your Own Grave’ scenes. If someone were to tell me to dig my own grave, I would simply say, “No.” I mean really, what are they going to do about it; kill me? They were gonna’ do that when I finished digging anyways. That being said, I imagine that the grave bit in all films and television episodes is a cue to a person’s innermost feelings on ‘Free Will’ vs. ‘Destiny’. And in case you haven’t been watching the show, that was the theme for the first half of it. Seriously, as this final season progresses, it gets more and more nostalgic of the first couple of seasons. And, with that being said, it was true to Ben’s character to dig the grave. Ben is a, ‘where there’s life, there is hope to manipulate’, kind of person. I also got a real kick when Esau came out of the woods to tell Ben, “This is how to escape, and, oh, by the way, I left a gun for you.” It’s a wonder he and Sawyer get along so well. Brilliant con men, the both of ‘em. I’ll touch on that later.

I immensely enjoyed three things in this episode. Number one was Ben letting go of his power, both on the island, and off the island in the new reality. Whenever he has found himself in a position of power, or close to obtaining a position of power, someone else had to pay the price of him getting there. So to see him be humble, was remarkable and wonderful to me.

Number two, was Jack waving a stick of dynamite in Destiny’s face. He has always been the person who believes in free-will and science, and in this moment, it’s as if he’s hacked into Destiny’s operating system to his own advantage. “I don’t believe in destiny.” Says Jack. “Yes, you do. You just don’t know it yet.” Says Locke. Jack believes in a certain type of destiny, one where he is not meant to be blown up. Destiny Jack taking on Team Esau with the idea that he is somewhat invincible is going to be awesome. I also think this makes Jack the perfect candidate; the scientific man living by faith.

Number three, was that Arnzt gets Ben to spill the beans about what his actual goal is, before agreeing to help him. In my recollection, this is the first time in LOST history that someone refused to do something until they’re told why exactly they’re being asked to do it. I have grown to the point where I let go of many things so as to not go crazy watching this show, and I don’t feel that way anymore with this final season. In the past, every time a character demands answers from another character, they ask all the wrong questions or walk away satisfied with only scraps of useless information. This of course leaves us asking ourselves all the right questions, and wondering what the other character really knows. This season there hasn’t been a whole lot of that, a bit, but not three different scenes in every episode. Thank you.

Theories

About the Flash Sideways thing, I don’t think the flash-sideways world is where it ends, like the majority over at Lostpedia do. I also don’t think it is a simple ‘What would have happened’ either, it takes up too much time in each episode, especially with this being the final season and all. That leaves me thinking that it can only be one thing, a kind of test or scale. This new off-island life we see, is a revelation of each characters true character. In Sayid’s episode, he kills a bunch of people off island, and ends up joining with Esau. After joining Esau, he opens the gates of the Temple and makes way for a mass murder, which he smiles about at the end. Ben makes the choice to help another, rather than himself. After we see this, he confesses personally to Illana about why he killed Jacob and asks her forgiveness, which she gives. He returns to the beach with her and the other people with good morals; people who do not kill for the benefit of their own personal wants and desires.

Another thought arose to me during this episode, when it was revealed that Jacob had hoped to be wrong about Ben, all the way up to the point when the knife entered his heart. “What if Ben hadn’t been taking orders from Jacob all along?” I mean, if all the ‘ghosts’ of the island are Smokey, then Christian could only have been acting as a messenger to Jacob. Remember, Ben spoke with Christian in the cabin a while back, thinking it was Jacob/Messenger of Jacob. Recall also the line of ash around the cabin. What if he was being played by Esau longer than any of us ever though? Like I said, it’s a wonder Esau and Sawyer hit it off so well! They’re two peas in a pod! This is all based on the fact that all Ghosts are Smokey/Esau, which would mean the Jacob that Hurley is communicating with isn’t really Jacob. However, Hurley has been known to see dead people before, and off the island mind you. So maybe he really was taking orders from Jacob… Oh LOST, hurry up find an ending would ya’? My brains can’t take this charade much longer.

Oh, and Widmore is back. I was wondering how long it would be until he showed up. I kinda’ wish he didn’t. Bigger headache.

Tagged:
Posted in: Television