Lost – The Candidate

Posted on May 8, 2010

2


Finally we have something to really write about! And if you haven’t watched this episode yet, and you’re not a fan of spoilers, do yourself a favor and stop reading right now. And even if you do enjoy spoilers, stop reading. Seriously, this was one of the best episodes of the final season, and you should watch it first.

What We Know

I loved this episode so much, because we got some solid answers. We found out that Fake Locke is indeed pure evil, and that he isn’t as sensitive to water as we thought. We also find out that sadly, the Kwons are no longer candidates, as they have descended together into the depths of the ocean, where they find their end.

We also learn that Sayid Jihra will not be the new Jacob either, as he bravely sacrificed his life to save those of his friends. It turns out Jacob chose some excellent candidates after all, as each and every one of them has done the right thing in the end. They have chosen their friends over their selfish desires. So far.

What I Think We Know

I’m still not sure who put the C4 on the plane. With Whidmore’s men guarding the plane, it would seem that it was he who put it on the plane. We have to remember that Richard is trying to destroy the plane as well. I’m pretty sure it was Whidmore, but what if?

The music box that was given to Claire reminded me of Danielle’s music box. I don’t vividly remember what hers looked like, but I think this is rather significant, though I have no clue as to why. And they didn’t examine that box really well in my opinion, which is more annoying than people not fully answering question or not asking the right question.

Jack is going to be the new Jacob. His actions, his demeanor, his trust, and the title, all point to this. His actions in protecting his friends and respecting their wishes. The way he carries himself reminds me of what we did see of Jacob, but slightly more edgy. His trust in his candidacy and the protection it provides is another huge sign to me. The title of the episode, I feel above all, points to this coming to pass before the season’s end. Which is cool with me, Jack is definitely one of my favorite characters, and most definitely a good man.

Closing Thoughts

Even with WIRED Magazine’s rather depressing article on the finale of the show, I think LOST will go down in history as one of the great works of this decade. Not to mention what it has done for the pop-culture in the start of this new century. It will be known as the first television show to really engage with the audience via a medium other than the television or the telephone. The creators actively listened to the viewers and responded to them. Not to mention they provided us with the most chaotic and muddled hour of television broadcasting with every episode. It’s been a great ride. Only three-and-a-half hours to go.

Tagged:
Posted in: Culture, Television